Interview with Ruby Lee Tuesday, author of Better Believe

695296_Tour-Banner_L1


911b0-better2bbelieveTitle:
 Better Believe
Author: Ruby Lee Tuesday
Publisher: Trafford
Pages: 132
Genre: Biography
Format: Ebook

Purchase at AMAZON

Ruby Lee Tuesday was born to be her father’s property. Trapped in an abusive home where only perfect was good enough for the devil, Ruby attempted to distract herself from his ways through her music, poetry, art, and most importantly, her faith in God. Tuesday shares a heartbreaking story of childhood trauma as she bravely pursued her dreams, despite living with parents who seemed determined to destroy her, both physically and emotionally. While providing a riveting look into the ways of an abuser, Tuesday details how her mistreatment eventually caused her to lose her faith, embark on a path of self-destruction, and succumb to panic attacks and depression. But through it all, Tuesday somehow managed to find solace and an escape in her music, ultimately leaving everything behind and bravely following her dream all the way from Norway to Nashville, Tennessee, where she would find faith once again. Better Believe is a story of determination, passion, betrayal, friendship, and hope as one woman journeys from the darkness of abuse into the light of healing where she learns to believe in herself for the first time.

amazon

How did you come up with the title of your book?

The title of my book came to me as I was writing my story. I started to realize that I was going to live through all the trauma in my life. And so I had Better just Believe it. I was going to make it. I was going to come back from a land of crazy and darkness and be myself again. I had Better Believe it, cause it was happening. I also found my faith in God back on my way through all of this. I lost it when I was a child and now I can say I have a Better Believe then ever before, stronger and more personal. And people call me BeBe, so it was actually 3 reasons for the choice of the title. The under title – A Story Of Hope- I chose this because it is story of hope. If I can survive all that trauma, so can you. And that is hope, my story of hope.

What is your writing environment like?

When I wrote the book my writing environment was a motel room in Detroit. I had a chair, a computer and a desk. I keep it quiet while I work so my mind can work and I am very focused when I write. Now I sit in my own house with a view over the canal in Florida, still with a desk, a chair and my computer.

What are some of the best tools available today for writers?

I am very old fashioned when it comes to writing. I usually sketch things up by hand in a note book with my pen. I like WORD, but as for right now, I use Pages on my mac. Other than that, I honestly have no clue. I would say the best writing tools are; a good imagination and patience, persistence, a sheet of paper and a pen. Yes, I know, I am a little old fashioned.

What inspires you to write?

I was inspired to write this book because I knew that it would have a huge impact on my healing. I also hoped that by telling my story I could help someone who was/is struggling in their own life. And I also want to share with others what life has taught me so far.

Did you learn anything while writing this book?

I learned a lot of things while I wrote this story. I learned about the power of healing through writing. I learned to put words onto things that had happened to me so long ago. I learned to own my story and to connect myself with things and incidents that I had suppressed in my mind. I learned to voice my opinion. I learned to trust in myself. I learned to let go and forgive. I learned about where I came from and that Im a survivor. I learned that you can take something tragic and turn it into something magic.

What is your favorite quality about yourself?

My favorite quality about myself is my persistence. I never gave up, even in my darkest hours, I never gave up hope! Hope that someday I would be able to live like the person I was born to be, not the wounded me. And I try to help people I meet along my way, because I know what it is like to be by yourself in despair so I kind of feel for people and like to help them if I can. I am also a singer songwriter and i am currently working on my first album “…butAlive!!!” by LadyLoveRebel. http://www.ladyloverebel.com

Ruby Lee Tuesday has spent years on healing both physically and spiritually. She is a poet, singer, and songwriter who plays a variety of instruments. Ruby left Norway in 2013 to pursue her dreams in Nashville, Tennessee. This is her first book.

Leave a Reply

